Leave a comment

Georgia On My Mind

Last winter a friend of mine backpacked solo across Georgia in Eastern Europe. His social media updates and the pictures he kept sharing were enough to convince me to plan a trip of my own. I had heard amazing things about Georgia from other travelers too and could not wait to explore the country, though sadly I only had one short week to split between Georgia and Baku, Azerbaijan. I will keep details of the latter for another post.

While my exploration of Georgia was far from thorough, I did leave with one solid impression of the country: I love it! Its beautiful mountains, historic churches, European vibes, and incredibly good-natured people didn’t need more than a week to win my heart over. I will absolutely be returning to Georgia again someday, hopefully soon. Hopefully in snow.

14334484_151155902000401_205794521_n

My co-travelers and I managed not just to take in beautiful Tbilisi, but the absolutely amazing countryside as well. Our first trip outside the capital was to Gudauri, 7200 meters above sea level and 80 km from the Russian border. The panoramic views were soul stirring to say the least – the kind of experience that will remain with me forever. We also managed to travel to Mtskheta, one of the oldest towns in the country and to also to Batumi and Kazbegi, villages that are home to the Black Sea and absolutely stunning mountain scenery.

14334427_1794724344144950_1290638462_n

One could write a dozen such blog posts highlighting Georgia’s beauty and yet not scratch the surface. It is a complex, sometimes difficult place, and I do know some people who dislike it, but it has a special, indescribable ‘something’. My experience in Georgia was beautiful. It wrapped itself around me like a blanket, got into my DNA, and has certainly captured my heart and mind forever.

me

Georgia is a country of contradictions. It felt like a place frozen in time and yet modern and pulsating with life. Beautiful and yet there are pockets of poverty, disheveled homes in dilapidated Cul-de-sac. Georgia is Unique. Culturally limitless. Lots of contrasts. Bohemian. I guess like all places I have traveled to, Georgia has its own special vibe and that’s why I loved it so much. We travel to seek out different places and people. An insatiable thirst for difference.

Like all those who travel, I have seen and experience way more than I remember and though it has been two days since I have returned from my short trip  I’m still there in my head and heart, and the hole it leaves is tangible. I will return there someday but until then, like that old Ray Charles classic,

I’ve got ‘…Georgia on my mind…’

 

 

Leave a Reply

