1 Comment

Cardboard Box

I’ll let you in on a little secret about myself, I hold on to all sorts of silly things. For example I take screenshots of chat conversations I want to remember, I keep the stubs from movie tickets, I keep pamphlets and boarding passes from trips around the world…I save everything!

Let’s backtrack a little…I have this cardboard box that holds a lot of my favourite memories. I’m not sure whom I got it from or when I got it, but I received it many years ago and despite forgetting what came in it, I liked this box so much that I kept it in the hope of finding a use for it. Eventually I did.

I’m a bit of a hoarder when it comes to mementos and mental memories. Ever since high school, I always kept things that I thought were important to the history of my relationships or special places or events. I have letters my parents wrote to me. Years of correspondence with my pen-friends (yes I had pen-friends), exam papers my friends asked me to get rid of, and a wide variety of billet-doux that mean something to me. This large box seemed like the perfect resting place for my memories.

The funny thing about memories though is that they only last as long as you remember them. Despite starting many moons ago in high school, I still have those numerous keepsakes tucked away. While I know of their existence, I realize that I rarely unearth that box from its resting place to reminisce on the past.

So, what’s the point? Why keep a box full of little metal memories that collects dust in my apartment? Why do I keep adding to it as I have more life-experiences and as more people flit in and out of my life? Why not just sift through it and toss out the unnecessary? Simply put, I can’t—not yet at least. Those keepsake and mementos are vital scraps of my life and so much of who I am and what made me this way is confined therein.

In the words of the old country song:

“Memories don’t leave like people do
They always stay with you
whether they’ve been good or bad
they are something that you had”

There is something to be said for memorabilia, we value them because they represent a connection with something important in our past. Many of us keep all kinds of memorabilia around and while I don’t believe those things intrinsically represent a threat to your present, they are part and parcel of who you are at the moment.

Call me sentimental but I am one of those people whose mind is a depository of long lost memories. I remember more “useless” information than most people I know. I am a trivia king and so my memory is not selective and neither are my mementos. For all intents and purposes I try never to forget people, places, experiences, things and my mementos of past relationships, photos, cards, gifts and other things are my relationships’ totem pole.

I wonder if you’d be willing to share about the things you keep, why you keep them and what they mean to you.

Thanks for taking the time to read…

“Memories, even bittersweet ones, are better than nothing.”  ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Onyx

One comment on “Cardboard Box

  1. Screenshots!!! my doom!! But blackmail aside, I keep things too.. scars I carry on my body and in my head..

Leave a Reply

