1 Comment

Book Problems

This weekend I had to move apartments…again. For those of you who are keeping count, that’s five apartments in seven years. But let’s keep the ranting for another post, shall we? Anyway, as much as I detest packing and moving, I have got to say, unpacking my personal library brings me so much joy! In the last seven years here, I’ve amassed a large collection of books, and that’s putting it mildly!

Today, I found myself killing some time in one of Sharjah’s few bookstores (The Book Mall at Qanat Al Qasba). I didn’t go in there with any specific book in mind but I did walk out with four new books to add to my collection. For those who know me well, one thing is certain, this is a pattern, something that repeats itself over and over again.

Despite the fact that I probably have way too many books and despite the fact that I am running out of room to store them, I’m absolutely not sold on the notion of purging my library by ‘giving some away’ like someone ridiculously suggested a few days ago. I don’t even fancy lending a book and I cannot even imagine what parting with them permanently would feel like.

The reason I cannot part with my books is this: a significant number of books I own are ones I haven’t read yet. Some people believe I should read all the ones I have before I purchase any new books, but I cannot help myself. There’s something so special about putting new books in a row with other books, read and unread; and then lingering over the sight of all of them lined up on a shelf waiting to be selected. I don’t know how else to explain it, but when it comes to books, there will always be more books that you haven’t read than books that you have, and a reading desire is in many ways more important than reading accomplishments, no?

My library of unread books is far more inspiring than a library of books already read. There’s nothing more exciting than finishing a book and walking over to my book shelves to figure out what I’m going to read next. So, the solution here is simple – slow down on the buying, not cut it out completely, which means things like limiting myself to one book per bookstore visit. As long as I don’t trip over those piles of books on my floor or break my back trying to transport them to my next apartment (God forbid!), it seems to me that having too many books is a pretty awesome problem to have.

One comment on “Book Problems

  1. There is no such thing as too many books 😉

Leave a Reply

