Leave a comment

Worship Refreshed

There’s something so uplifting about listening to good worship music. This morning I woke up and switched on the Hillsongs YouTube channel and it’s been playing ever since as I have continued to get on with my weekend chores.

imagesCAS9HOEOMusic has always spoken to me. I can still remember the songs I learned as a child in Sunday school and the lyrics that spoke to me as a teenager as if they had been written just for me to understand the stuff I was experiencing— and I remember exactly how I felt at the time. I remember the joy and the tears, the peace and the discontent. And the longer I journey with the Lord, the more I believe that He intended for me to attach music to my life experiences in this way. That’s what the book of Psalms is for, isn’t it? There is literally a song for every life experience.

I miss the worship from my church back home. Not the songs, not the instruments but the experience – the feeling of being in the presence of friends and family as we sing about our faith, our hopes and aspirations and our collective gratitude and praise.

Worship helps me refocus my life on Him Regardless of what I see or what I am feeling inside. You see, when we take our eyes off of ourselves and fix them on the Lord, everything around us looks different, doesn’t it? I don’t know about you, but I have walked through some tough experiences. I have been humbled and tested over and over. Worship songs somehow capture my complete and utter dependence on the Lord and remind me of His strength and faithfulness months and years later. When I sing those songs now, I’m transported to those moments when every step I took depended on His strength, and my faith is strengthened and refreshed anew.

Anyway I don’t have anything deep or serious to say this morning. I woke up feeling a little down and the weather outside did not help make me feel better. But like always, I tuned on some worship music and I was instantly reminded of how blessed I am and how His grace will always be enough for me.

Whether it was singing in the choir, being part of outreach music programmes or simply humming along to Paul Blaoche or Sandy Patty’s songs while I was growing up, the language of music is an integral thread in the fabric of the person I am today.

If you’re feeling down, give it a try – it will uplift your spirit too.

“Don’t let life affect your worship; let your worship effect life”—LaMar Boschman

Leave a Reply

