Leave a comment

Now having watched the film, I think Ang Lee should rewrite the book too! Here’s my blog on ‘Life of Pi’ from some time ago.

Frankly Speaking - Sydney Atkins

After two years of putting it on hold, I finally decided to give Life of Pi one last try and read it from cover-to-cover last week. I’m glad I did but I really don’t think it deserves all the hype and hoopla that surrounds it. So, I guess it is now time to sit back to think and to analyse what it is exactly that makes this book interesting and why parts of it are a complete snooze fest.

First and most importantly, Martell deserves credit for being completely original. I have never come across a pulsating narrative like this that vacillates between hope, despair, religion, science, and a host of other somewhat preachy themes. Martell even manages to masterfully blend both fact and fiction in this strange and bizarre novel about life and the tenacity of the human spirit.

Yann Martel keeps the story of Pi’s long voyage moving at an…

View original post 460 more words

Leave a Reply

