3 Comments

Rewind. Reflect. Renew.

Over the last year I’ve journeyed around my skull and I’ve been happy to invite many of you on that journey. I’ve spouted pearls of wisdom that I’ve picked up along the way. (Thanks to Dr. Brian Weiss and way too many Oprah re-plays) Sometimes I’ve pondered and mulled over the things that concern me or issues and causes that I am passionate about and there have also been numerous times when I’ve tapped away on my key board boring many of you with intricate details of my daily life.

A year ago, I was a blog reader. Today, there are 163 posts on my blog with 11,320 hits, and that means so much to me. It means that people care to read what I think, it means that in spite of how busy people are they take a couple of minutes to read and respond to what I’m thinking out loud.

This morning, a young lady who had recently stumbled across my blog asked me, ‘What is the most difficult thing to write about?’

It took me a couple of minutes before I was finally able to answer, ‘Writing honestly about myself.’

I find it very tough to write about myself. I don’t find it so difficult to write about my past or my present experiences in a sometimes humorous – sometimes serious manner, a kind of distortion that gives me a sense of detachment, of being able to look at life critically. But writing earnestly about myself in the present is the most challenging exercise for me. I struggle to be completely honest in my writing. I’m such a sucker for diplomacy and tact.

Sometimes I wish I was a better blogger. I wish I could write about what I am really thinking at times and not have to tip toe around issues or wrap it in a garb of euphemisms and tactfulness. I wish I could be more honest, more open, gutsier even and I was beginning to beat myself up over it – till I read this on another blog that I follow:

‘For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase, they quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this… We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know its normal and the most important thing you can do is do a lot of work. It’s gonna take a while. It’s normal to take a while. You’ve just gotta fight your way through. The important thing is to know you’ve started something good and you will get better in time.” – Ira Glass

That’s so true of anything we put our heads and hearts to. Blogging has been one of the most rewarding experiences for me this past year and I’m so glad I had all of you to share it with. I promise…I’m going to work really hard to get better at it, so stick with me.

 

3 comments on “Rewind. Reflect. Renew.

  1. Thanks for the ‘likes’ you guys….I appreciate it. Cheers!

  2. Sir, you have a very easy to read style, and your blog entries, from the few I have read (will read more), are on a variety of topics and very interesting, insightful and thought-provoking. I have always been very fond of reading and used to write in school/college. You are inspiring me to start blogging.

    • Haha! Thank you ma’am, I’m always amused by people’s responses to my blog posts. But yes, writing here gives me an avenue to vent, to record my experiences, to dream and to sometimes simply just – be. You should try it too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

