1 Comment

Of Lies, Love and Work….

Yesterday I had a conversation that left me in a contemplative mood. I replayed the conversation in my mind at various points in the day and like a festering sore, it refused to leave me alone.  So here I am putting down my thoughts in words again, for this is the only way I will get any sense of closure or finality. Lying here in bed tapping at the keys on my laptop I am reminded of a speech Steve Jobs’ made at Stanford some time before he passed away. Here is the crux of what he had to say…

‘You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.’

Profound, deep, inspirational and moving words from a modern-day maverick and yet I’m left questioning how practical his advice is. He put forward an ideal that we should aspire to fulfill. Can we follow his advice and not settle on issues of love and work? Take me for example,  if I search for everything my heart desires for a relatively short time, then the search can be considered worthwhile; but if the search is very long or never even finds me the kind of love or work I desire, then in the end would the search have been worth it? If I keep all these options open indefinitely am I really just chasing impractical options? Am I lying to myself each time I tell myself that things will work out when they’re meant to?

It has taken me almost an hour to write this post today. I’ve paused and pondered along the way and that is so unlike my regular rambling confused style. But anyhow, here’s what I’ve decided and while I’m not fully satisfied with my conclusion it has however, brought me some temporary closure. So here it is…

Not settling or not compromising, in love and work is a commendable ideal, but it is not always practical and not appropriate in all of my circumstances. Sometimes I will just have to settle and compromise and gradually build what I love. At other times, I need to realize my limitations and settle for the best alternative—in love and in my work. In any case life provides no guarantees so we just do what we gotta do and hope that it all turns out well in the end….

One comment on “Of Lies, Love and Work….

  1. […] Of Lies, Love and Work…. (sydneydxb.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

