1 Comment

This one’s for you, Amulya!

This evening I watched one of my students (who I am MOST proud of) Amulya Shanker; play the piano for his school’s theatrical adaptation of ‘The Wizard of Oz’. The concert ended about two hours ago and my heart is still bursting with pride. As I sat beside Amulya’s parents, my mind raced back to my first day on the job in Dubai: the day I met Amulya. When I first met Amulya in the summer of 2008 he was a tiny little chap who couldn’t sit still and just couldn’t stop talking.  Over the last few years, Amulya has grown from strength to strength and I cannot begin to record his list of glowing accomplishments and the accolades he continues to bring in from across the world. Each time I think back on how Amu has grown and how much he has achieved, my heart if filled with intense pride!

Teachers all over the world are over-worked, tired and stressed out and sadly there aren’t too many financial benefits for such a demanding profession. Having said that, I must confess that I will never trade this life for any other profession in the world. You see, no other profession can allow me to influence the future as does teaching.  No other profession offers me the wide range intangible benefits like teaching does and no amount of extra work will make me think otherwise. I’m in this for the long haul.

Yes, teaching has gotten harder in these past few years. But I’ve gotten better at it with time, and I have quite a while before I can learn my last trick yet. So when things get rough and the paperwork overpowers the joy of teaching, I sit down and remind myself of why I do what I do. I think of how blessed I am to have been able to travel the world and contribute to the lives of children who I am positive will make their mark on the world.  I’m so grateful that I get to be a small part of the lives of some truly remarkable children, children like Amulya.

One comment on “This one’s for you, Amulya!

  1. God bless you Amulya…….Sydney’s mom

Leave a Reply

