Leave a comment

Shaken yet Secure

He will never allow the righteous to be shaken- Psalm 55:22

Several cities across India were rocked and jolted by an unexpected earthquake this afternoon. Early Tsunami warnings were issued as the authorities leapt into crisis management mode and hundreds of people lined the streets of their cities afraid for their lives. Sadly, I was so consumed by the events of my own day that I only became aware of this unfortunate turn of events when I spoke to my mother late this evening. For a fleeting moment, the details she gave me sent a chill down my spine and I whispered a silent prayer of thanks – grateful that my family was safe and sound.

The Earth of course is screaming out for attention and I believe that the current shaking will continue to intensify as she rebels against the atrocities committed against her. She is protesting the removal of her mountain tops, the scraping of her ocean floors, the polluting of her air, waters and land and the fracturing of her crust. Some even say that the end of the world is drawing near and many are filled with fear and trepidation.

But for me, sitting here so many miles away from home, there is still a calm assurance that my family will always be safe. For you see, when my world is shaking, heaven stands still and the hands that shaped the world hold tightly onto me and everyone else who chooses to trust them. So really, what is there to fear?

Leave a Reply

