4 Comments

Roads I Have Traveled

“Like all great travelers, I have seen more than I remember, and remember more than I have seen.”

– Benjamin Disraeli

I sat there in the little beach side bistro sipping on a cucumber coolaid and tweeting about the beauty of Cape Town. There was a gentle murmur in the air as I sat there surrounded by travelers in the usual conversation about where they came from and where they’re going next. Down on the beach, surfers were catching the last waves of the day and men driving horse-drawn carts were ferrying ecstatic children around the beach front promenade.

The magic of that solitary moment brought back to my mind countless other memories that I have, of times spent in varied parts of the world. I have had so many wonderful experiences and there are a million memories locked away in the recesses of my mind that sometimes escape and cause me to break out in smile. Each memory reminds me of why I travel: to learn and grow, to challenge myself, stretch my limits and foster an appreciation of both the world at large and the confines of my quirky apartment in Dubai.

I don’t want to forget a single one of those memories. I want to have them as tangible reminders of some of the most precious moments of my life. Therefore, I have decided to add one more category to my blog – My Travelogues with ramblings of amusing encounters and fascinating journeys and trips to roads less travelled. I would love it if you guys would contribute too. You may have been to places that are still on my bucket list and I’d love to hear every little fascinating detail you may have.

They say that life is a collection of memories and if that’s true, I’ve have quite a few memories already stored away. I can hardly wait till the next adventure begins and the next opportunity to create more memories presents itself.

Au revoir for now, but remember this – to travel, is to live.

 

 

 

 

4 comments on “Roads I Have Traveled

  1. Hey Syd,

    Love the idea……can’t wait to read your travelogues and more……. now you know why your blog has been highlighted as one of my key resources in the IB course outline……. and goold ole me can have an autographed copy to begin with ……..the kids will have a blast and will learn so much from you!!!!

    Thanks for just being YOU!!

  2. Yes, agree stongly! We travel and we remember many things, as they are really part of our life. Actually no matter we learned from them or not, they are experience. Life is really meaningful as everyone have or will experience are unique, different. Treasure it, it’s a gift from life. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

