Leave a comment

Un-thinkable

Hi everyone, I hope you’re all doing well. It’s been three jam-packed days since my return from Cape Town and I have not even had a chance to unpack. I’m literally living out of my suitcase! ( for some reason, I love how that sounds…)

So, this evening while I was walking home from the barber shop, my ipod was on shuffle mode and I found myself listening to the soulful voice of Alicia Keys. Her song titled ‘Un-thinkable’ has some really thought provoking lyrics and with all the rubbish out there, a song like this is a refreshing change and is so worth listening to.

So that got me thinking and I decided that it would be the perfect material for a blog return.

One of the lines of the song goes like this… “if we do the unthinkable would it make us look crazy…?” 

I think the answer to that question is, yes.  Always yes.  Hell yes. To do anything out of the ordinary, to experience anything unique or rare will call on us to step out of our comfort zones, to do whatever it takes, to push our personal limits and to have guts and conviction in equal measure. Those things generally do make people look crazy. Everyone from Newton, Bell, Shakespeare, Steve Jobs and even our modern day tycoons have all at some point in their lives, been accused of being crazy mavericks.

But, a little later in the song comes what I feel is the most important line of the lyrics … a loaded statement that makes all the difference and separates those who can think the unthinkable and those who can’t.

The line goes – “if you ask me I’m ready”

Alicia Keys claims to be ready – ready to think the unthinkable. Ready to dare. Ready to dream. Ready to be.

What about you? Can you say the same? Are you willing? Are you ready? Does it bother you that people will have opinions? Does the fact that people may laugh, jeer, mock and insult deter you? Remember there will always be people who encourage and strengthen you too. Which voices will you choose to listen to?

Writing this post was like talking to and advising myself. I had secretly promised myself not to make too many resolutions this year for I rarely keep my word. Breaking promises you make to yourself is always the easiest. However, I’m going to find one unthinkable thing to do in 2012. Just one. It may happen now, or months later. But I’m going to make sure I find a way to make it happen.

Alicia Keys says she’s ready. What about us?

Leave a Reply

