2 Comments

A Bag Of Potatoes, Really?

“There are many people who can do big things, but there are very few people who will do the small things.”
– Mother Teresa

This morning, I did something I have not done in quite a while. I volunteered to help out at the Missionaries of Charity. I think the last time I did something like this was back in 2008 when I spent a week with friends working in an old age home in Calcutta. Scores of foreigners and locals alike flock here to the – World Headquarters of the Missionaries of Charity, each morning to volunteer and help out with the goings on at this little but world Famous heaven in Calcutta.

It so happens that a friend from the U.K is visiting Calcutta and it was his enthusiasm that convinced me to sign up as well. Though we got off to a late start, the experience was humbling, to say the least.

At first I was disappointed, I was asked to simply carry potatoes from the courtyard to the kitchen! What a major let down. I was looking forward to doing some major life altering work and all they wanted me to do was carry bags of potatoes back and forth.

I don’t know if my disappointment was visible on my face or not, but a frail little nun pulled me aside and said something to me that I will always remember.

She said ‘the littlest acts of kindness and spirit can make the largest difference.’ I was left speechless for a couple of seconds, I simply smiled at her beaming, wrinkled face and continued to do what i had been asked to.

She didn’t say anything too profound, I know, but it just made me realize that there is so much I can do, so much…to make a small difference in the world around me. Even if it means carrying bags my favorite vegetable back and forth in a little courtyard in Calcutta.

2 comments on “A Bag Of Potatoes, Really?

  1. How beautifully put!! And to put Mother Teresa’s quote at the beginning makes this seem so larger than life, yet so beautifully simple. I’m so proud that I have a friend like you, cause I know that doing stuff like this doesn’t come naturally to me at least. And I also just realised that I’ve missed reading this blog. I’ll sit down and catch up on what I’ve missed as soon as I have the time.

    • Awww…sweetest comment ever written on my posts! And I know you…you could surprise yourself when in such situations. Enjoy the posts while I gorge on Kookie Jar lemon tarts! 🙂
      Sent from BlackBerry® and Mobile Solutions from Etisalat

Leave a Reply

