Leave a comment

Stargazing

In the last one week I’ve had the opportunity to see H.H Sheikh Mohammed, Tom Cruise, Bertie Ahern (I actually got to chat with him!)  Anushka Sharma, Anil Kapoor, Subhash Ghai, Farhan Akthar and a host of other well known personalities. This afternoon I will see Bill Clinton at a special programme being held at my school. What a week, right? But like always, part of me was left wondering where my fascination with celebrity stems from. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those crazy fans with a million posters plastered on the walls of my room, though I did go through a phases when Britney Spears was all I could think about …I was in love with her, her music and went to town buying her albums, posters …the whole shebang! Thank heavens that phase didn’t last…but I do still have quite an interest in the lives of these rich and famous folk who seem to have it all! Their lives make me think about all sorts of things.

It’s not the voyeuristic pleasure of reading gory details about their lives and loves that fascinate me. It’s their journeys that make me wonder. The rags to riches stories, the meltdowns and the comebacks, the failures and the meteoric success that often follows them around as they jet-set from one continent to another. Their success and how they deal with it- now that fascinates me.

Let’s face it. We are all creatures of curiosity, it is undeniable. We humans like to know everything, and it is for that reason we pursue all the knowledge that pertains to our curiosity- whether it be the theories and findings of scientists and philosophers or Rohit Bal’s latest winter line. We often think celebrities are different from us and that’s why their lives intrigue us. But, maybe we have more in common with them than we think.

Celebrities are known because they wanted to be known. They have a vision in their mind of being famous and they took the actions to get themselves there. Do you have a vision for your career or your life? Do you have a plan? I’m sure you do. We all do.

I’ve come to realize that my fascination with them stems from an inherent need to succeed, to be successful, to achieve my dreams and aspirations and to be all that I can and hope to be. These celebrities seem like they have it all. Maybe they do or maybe they don’t. That hardly matters to me. What matters is that I don’t get affected by the tumultuous lives they lead. It just makes me want to go out there and do my personal best at every task I undertake and to make every moment of my life count.

Are you taking actions on a regular basis to move your life forward? If not, get moving. Just because you are not on TV or in the Movies, doesn’t mean you cannot be just as famous or as successful and as happy as you want to be.

Have a lovely day ahead…

Leave a Reply

