Leave a comment

Birthday Wishlist

It’s officially a month before my birthday and even if it does seem a little childish, I’m terribly excited about turning 27. All my life, I have loved celebrating my Birthday…who doesn’t? But for me, it’s always been extra special. You see, the timing has always been perfect. It’s during the holiday season…everyone’s relaxed and in a cheerful mood…there’s a Christmassy feeling in the air…people are in the mood to spend ridiculous amounts of money and I get a ton of gifts over a period of three days!

But this year, I feel a little bit differently.

Turning 27 is not usually considered any sort of special milestone. At most it marks the official entrance into the “late 20s” category, which of course is nothing to write home about. But something happened recently that has put me in a slightly reflective mood. A couple of days ago, I had a concerned colleague telling me that I should really want to hurry up and line up some sort of wife finding situation because my ‘time was running out’….(it made me feel like a commodity with an expiration date…but that’s another story!) Coming back to the point, she asked me if there was any way she could help and I had to politely say ‘Thank You, but NO!’

So what is it that I want this year? What does my 27th birthday wish list look like? Here’s a little sneak peek.

I want to spend time with my family! Nothing makes me happier than the thought of spending time with my folks, my brother and my dog! When I was younger, I loved big parties, I loved treating my friends at the local pizzeria or ice cream parlor and I loved the idea of an expensive celebration. But that’s changed. All I want to do is sit down and talk to my parents. I want to tell them about all my many experiences, I want them to tell me their love story again….even a million times will never be enough. I want to give my brother elder-brotherly ‘gyaan’ and I want to lavish my love on Skippy who is clearly the most spoilt little pooch in town! That’s what I want!

I want to have all my special friends around me. Christabel, Dominic, Tanya, Payel, Sohini, Terence, Murshed, Sheldon, Denise, Junella, Ranvijay, Faith and Delicia! I want to talk and laugh and cry and tease and irritate and just have one day to ourselves where we can just be the way we used to be! No talking about marital issues and grown up problems, no talk of babies and feeding bottles, or business and bank loans! I just want us to be the silly ol’ teens we used to be…I want to be happy…surrounded by people who make me happy….that’s what I want!

I want to fall in love. truly, madly, deeply in love. As much as I hate to admit it, my colleague was correct. I think it’s about time and I do think I’m ready. I want to experience the ‘fuzzy feelings’, ‘butterflies’ and the whole shebang! Bring it on Cupid…I want to see what all the fuss is about!

You see, I think I’ve finally managed to I shed my post graduation, what-am-i-going-to-do-with-my-life? worries. I feel comfortable with the idea that the answer is not going to be some great epiphany that strikes in a flash. But the understanding of who I am and what I can become is clearer now and is an ever evolving idea that no longer scares me.

So here’s to turning 27. Three more years before the big 3-0! Gotta make the most of it! But, for those of you who are bored already, I assure you I will post another wish list sometime in the next few days – gadgets, gizmos, perfumes, books, designer labels and all that jazz! Please feel free to lavish me with the items listed…those will work perfectly too!

Leave a Reply

