2 Comments

Pages Turned, Bridges Burned and Lessons Learned

I’ve been in a reflective mood all day today. I spent the afternoon and evening thinking back and ruminating over everything that has happened this year. All the experiences I’ve had and the lessons I have learned along the way. Nine months of 2011 have already passed by in a flurry of activity. Before we know it, this year will be over and a new one will be upon us.  So what is it that I have learned thus far? Here is my very own ‘I’ve learned’ list.

  • I’ve learned that learning to forgive takes a lot of practice.
  • I’ve learned that true friendship continues to grow, inspite of the longest distances while some friendships just fade away.
  • I’ve learned that writing as well as speaking, can be utterly cathartic.
  • I’ve learned that maturity has more to do with the types of experiences you’ve had and what you’ve learned from them rather than how old you are. Which leads me to believe that …
  • … no matter what your past experiences are, your future is entirely yours to mould.
  • The loss of four family members over a span of a few months has taught me  that we should tell our loved ones exactly how much they mean to us. You never know when it will be the last time you see them.
  • Your dog will love you … no matter what!
  • There’s nothing like a hug from your parents or a squabble with your brother! You’ll know instantly that – ‘you’re finally home!’
  • And I’ve also learned that becoming the kind of person I want to be is taking much longer than I anticipated.

These are some simple yet reflective lessons about life that I have picked up from a range of experiences and from a wide gamut of remarkable people I’ve met along the way. I’ve only learned a few lessons so far. I’m still working on the rest. But for anyone working to craft a happy life for themselves, (and who isn’t?), this seems like a good list to think about till you are ready to make a list of your own.

2 comments on “Pages Turned, Bridges Burned and Lessons Learned

  1. Very nice sydney, thought provoking

Leave a Reply

